I forgot there was sales tax on clothes again…

11 Oct

Alrighty, back as promised. πŸ™‚

On Thurs, I had a day off and went out with two friends and hit Sephora where I did a color consultation for a friend, as well as taught her some easy daytime eye-makeup, as well as how to add a pop of color. She seemed to like it, so yay!

By the by, this was my outfit of the day:

 

100710

 

I loove the top for the back buttons and the lace detailing on the shoulders. I only found ONE of these and I snatched it up! It’s a little too big for me, but I just wear it slouchy. Tucked in the front only to make it look less messy/baggy/pajama-y. Topped it off with a black blazer from Banana Republic to keep myself warm. πŸ™‚

Top, Forever 21, $17.80
Jeans, H&M, $19.50 (I think!)
Flats, H&M, $12.50
Necklace, Charlotte Russe, $.99 (Clearance!)
Bangle, Liz Claiborne, $50(???)

Afterwards, we visited Forever 21 in SoHo. Grabbed a few things and ran into the empty changing room downstairs. πŸ™‚

Apparently, I CAN look more Korean (I’m Chinese). Hehe.


My friend and I both ended up buying this dress. πŸ™‚ Forever 21, $24.80. It sucked in my tummy, haha. Hoorah for bandage dresses! My friend who is 4’11” and curvier (i.e. with more womanly hips than mine) looked super hot in it too. πŸ˜€ Yayyyy!

I found a skirt I wanted, but it was too big for me. 😦
**Several days later I found it in the Times Square location and I bought it like a fiendddd!**


Skirt, Forever 21, $15.80

Now I know it looks tacky because the pleather is so reflective (o_o) but it’s actually just black pleather panels on the side and black knit material in the middle. I love how the back has an exposed zipper. πŸ˜€ I wore it to work on Saturday and received many compliments. People didn’t believe it was from F21. πŸ™‚ I love how I can pair this with a white button down or even a casual t-shirt. Cheers!

I kept my make-up simple that day, wearing only a highlight color (NYX e/s in Cream Cheese) and black eyeliner, and dusting a bright blush to my cheeks (MAC Bite of An Apple). Topped with nude lips (Revlon Colorburst in Soft Nude) and I was good to go. πŸ™‚

My make-up for work is just about the same… I’m trying to lay off my cheap lipglosses because they leave a white film on my lips after a while (ICK.) and I end up looking diseased… >.>

Today I went out with a simple eye look again, highlight color and a light wash of a taupey brown, and eyeliner. For my blush I went with MAC Merrily…


Left: MAC Bite of An Apple (matte), Right: MAC Merrily (mineralized)

Aren’t they so cute? πŸ™‚

Since the weather has been getting chillier, I decided to switch up my face routine and I’m starting to use my H2O Oasis kit. Glad I stocked up! I also had to switch my foundation and I’m still trying to find one I’m happy with and I don’t end up looking like a greaseball with in the middle of the day…

Revlon Photoready in 008 Golden Beige – I like this, except it is a tad too pink for my skin. Apparently, I’m SUPER yellow/olive.
Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse in Medium 2-2.5 – I love how hydrating and smooth this is. Unfortunately, tends to fade on my skin. Requires a really good primer and lots of setting powder.
Dr. Jart Blemish Base Silver Label – Love this as a primer/base. I use very little. Unfortunately, like most BB creams, it is tooo light for my skin. However, it does provide excellent oil-control. πŸ™‚ ❀ Always a plus! AND SPF 35!!!
Maybelline Superstay 24 hr Makeup in Classic Beige – Really great color match. However, can tend to look dry/cakey. Yikes! IΒ definitelyΒ Β need a refresher spray to make it look less gross on my skin.
Everyday Minerals Matte in Olive Medium – I am still sketchy about mineral makeup because it doesn’t provide the fullest coverage. However, this product is a wonderful setting powder, especially paired with my BB cream, so my skin doesn’t look unnaturally pale.

I haven’t used any of these foundations on a regular basis enough to know what my skin likes. >< We’ll seee…………. Also, starting to break out again. =\ I can’t decide if it’s my pillow case or I was just stressed out from work. Le sigh. Hopefully it will go away soon.

Ta ta for now!

One Response to “I forgot there was sales tax on clothes again…”

  1. Kirky October 11, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    Cool Blog, [just wondering] are you familiar with fashion toast?

Leave a Reply

