A subtle way to wear color :)

24 Oct

I’ve been posting very basic looks for my readers who aren’t a whole lot invested in make-up. I’m purposely keeping looks simple for their sake, as well as my time crunches in the morning. I don’t want to spend 15 minutes blending in 5 shadows. I wish I did. :X

TODAY’S FACE:

I wore some teal pigment on my lower lashline. It’s a perfectly safe and subtle way to wear a pop of color to have a little bit of fun or even enhance your eye color. I kept the top lid relatively neutral, using a pale shimmery beige/gold on my entire lid, and a milk-chocolate matte brown in my crease to contour. For my base, I didn’t go my usual route and use Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion, but I went with an eye crayon from Victoria’s Secret PINK.

I’m also wearing GEO Angel lenses in Green. πŸ™‚ Lashes are once again from F21.

Foundation-wise, I’ve ditched my summer full-coverage foundations because my skin has been getting very dry. Lately, I’ve been favoring Revlon’s PhotoReady. I wear shade 008 Golden Beige, but it’s a shy too pink for my very yellowy/olivey complexion. 😦 I do notice a lot of shimmer on my hand when I apply, but not so obvious on my face. It leaves a dewy/shimmery finish that I actually don’t mind a whole lot, despite my obsession with staying matte.

For cheeks, I originally went with a rosy color, but needed a little bit more warmth so I used the NYX Orange cream blush as an afterthought. Laura Mercier Bronzing Duo in Pink Bronze was my contour for my cheeks. (o^_^o) ‘Cause I’m all chubby cheeked like that.

Lips were very simple. NYX Orange Soda lipstick (again!) and NYC Β Lip Sliders in Sugar Coated as gloss.

PRODUCTS USED:
FACE

  • Clarins Hydra-Matte Lotion
  • Shiseido Extra Smooth Sun Protection Lotion SPF 38
  • Revlon PhotoReady in 008 Golden Beige
  • MAC Studio Finish Concealer in NC35
  • Sam Fung Hoi Tong Face Powder

EYES

  • ο»ΏVS Pink Me Up Chubby Eye Crayon in Beatbox
  • F21 eyeshadow palette in Brown (I used a mix of the first two colors only)
  • The Body Shop Eye Color Matte in 09
  • ELF Cream Eyeliner in Black
  • NYX Ultra Pearl Mania in Turquoise Pearl
  • Covergirl Lash Blast Volume Waterproof in Very Black
  • LashGrip Lash Adhesive in Clear
  • L’Oreal Lineur Intense in Black
  • [not shown] F21 false eyelashes

CHEEKS

  • ELF Studio Blush in Blushing Rose
  • NYX Cream Rouge in Orange
  • Laura Mercier Bronzing Duo in Pink Bronze (the brown shade)

LIPS

  • NYX round lipstick in Orange Soda
  • NYC Lip Sliders in Sugar Coated (MAC Boy Bait dupe!)

Onto the clothes!

Yay comfy outfit! πŸ™‚ The giant sweater/cardigan is from Hong Kong; my grandmother sent it over a few years ago. I actually wear it around the house. :X It’s not exactly the most flattering sweater in the world, but it’s superrrrr comfortable. Plus, I wasn’t out to impress any boys. πŸ˜› I did, however, look naked from behind because my skirt was shorter that the sweater, haha.

The bag is a present from my dad to my mom when they were still dating, circa 1985. Adorable, eh? ❀ I love it.

The rest of my outfit is a plain v-neck t-shirt from American Eagle and a teal skirt and a brown belt with weave details, both from F21. I love the skirt because of the pockets and weave detail as well. Bracelet is from a small jewelery store along 14th St. Shoes are from Bakers.

This feather cape is so awesome, LOL. From F21 (34th Street), and there was only one, in a XS. Barely fit my neck, but I thought this was fun to try on anyways. πŸ˜›

Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

3 Responses to “A subtle way to wear color :)”

  1. obsidianeyez October 24, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    What’s the powder all the way to the right under “Face” products?

    • rosegasm October 25, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

      It’s a Chinese face powder I got at Pearl River Mart for $2.25. My grandmother used to use it and I never knew what it was for until I rediscovered it online. πŸ™‚ Only drawback is that it smells a little like old ladies. :X

  2. Winnie October 25, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    You remind me of a bird in the last photo.

Leave a Reply

