Eucerin Everyday Protection Face Lotion SPF 30 Review

14 Dec

So in the previous posts, I mentioned how my skin has been very angry with me. I’ve used the most gentle and hydrating cleansers I owned (Clarins Gentle Foaming Cleanser, H2O+ Oasis Water, Boscia Purifying Cleanser), and everything left my skin feeling raw and red. The only thing my skin hasn’t reacted to is plain ‘ol Cetaphil. So I am sticking to that.

I’ve concluded my skin is just being super lousy and sensitive because it is INSANELY dry. But not to the point where I’m flaking. I think it’s because I exfoliate regularly (my DIY mix of brown sugar and olive oil/honey—and sometimes baking soda). Anyways, on to the point of this post..

I went to Target last night in desperation of finding a moisturizer that will finally keep my skin from throwing tantrums. I was switching between a bunch of moisturizers I had (Clarins Hydra-matte, H20+ Hydrating Oasis Treatment, Clinique Dramatically Different Lotion AND Gel)Β  and nothing seemed to work, except for Cetaphil lotion for dry sensitive skin (though I’m not sure I’m supposed to use it on my face…). It left me a little greasy though, which didn’t look particularly nice with my make-up. 😦

But then I found this!

Eucerin was a brand I was introduced to through a friend who had eczema. She didn’t recommend this particular moisturizer, but I knew I could trust this brand because it was MADE for sensitive skin.Β  And I was very pleased it came with SPF 30 (which is the lowest level of SPF your face needs to be protected!). It is also non-comedogenic (so very unlikely to clog pores — great if you have acne — though it doesn’t say anything about ‘oil-free’ so if you tend to have REALLY oily skin, I say move on… though some reviewers on Makeup Alley love it for oily skin) and is also fragrance-free. It also comes with a pump, which is very hygenic, unlike moisturizers/creams that comes in a jar. I’ve used it twice thus far, and my skin isn’t retaliating, so I’m very happy so far.

Only thing I don’t agree with is the “fragrance-free” part; I can smell the sunscreen and though it fades away, I really do not like the smell. I have bad memories with the smell of sunblock when one brand made me break out like a $%^* one summer… which is why my HG sunscreen is the Shiseido Sun Protection Lotion. It smells slightly sunscreeny, but slightly perfumey too. Hurrah. And it acts as a make-up primer and doesn’t make me oily. Oh, yes. The Eucerin is slightly thick (where Shiseido is really watery and runny) and can be greasy if you apply too much (1/2 to 3/4 of a pump is plenty). However, it melted into my skin and I didn’t have any oily issues after about 15-20 minutes. My skin was left supple and soft. πŸ™‚

I really do like this lotion, though I don’t see myself repurchasing it. I originally wanted the Aveeno Ultra-Calming lotion, but the Target I went to was out of it. Has anyone tried the Aveeno? Thoughts? What does it smell like?

Price is a little high for drugstore, but if it works, who wouldn’t mind paying the few extra bucks? Mine was about $9 and change.

I guess I am giving this a 4/5, only because of the smell, but other than that, I like it. πŸ™‚

One Response to “Eucerin Everyday Protection Face Lotion SPF 30 Review”

  1. Bernie Nihart December 20, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    This Eucerin Everyday Protection Face Lotion SPF 30 Review what? i just like pink blush. post was very nicely written, and it also contains a lot of useful facts. I appreciated your professional way of writing this post. Thanks, you have made it very easy for me to understand.

Leave a Reply

