Request: Interview Make-up… and tips! (and my first model)

22 Feb

On one of my last posts, I received a comment from a reader, Sammi, asking for a look. You don’t know how excited I was! (I didn’t think anyone was reading this blog, lol.) So, my dear, this one is for you!

This is my go-to interview face, no matter the time of year, or the type of job. Granted, the look is very simple and clean (and devoid of any kind of shimmer), so it is very appropriate for, let’s say, an office job. If you are looking for something for a more creative position, you can go a little heavier with shadow, blush, lips, etc. 🙂

But if you’re restricted to a more conservative environment, this is perfect. You won’t look overdone, but you will still look like you made some kind of effort in your appearance. xD You don’t want your interviewer to be staring at your face and thinking, “Geez, this girl wears a lot of make-up! Obviously, she won’t be taking this job seriously if she spends that much time on her face!”, but you also don’t want them to think that you basically just rolled out of bed and put on a nice outfit and look unkempt and unpolished.

As you can see, I kept my eyes very simple. I groomed and filled in my eyebrows (because I have very sparse ones and I didn’t dye them to match my hair….) with a taupe pencil (Wet N Wild in Taupe) and used a tinted brow gel (ELF Treat and Tame in Light) to color it. We want our eyebrows to be defined and shaped, but still very natural.

For shadows, I stuck to the NYX Trio called “Highlight/Brown/Suede”. I applied the Highlight shade all over my lid and brow bone. I then applied black liner (no wing here!) and smudged that slightly with the Brown shade from the trio. One coat of mascara just on the top lashes; applying on the bottom can look overdone. I used a white eyeliner on the lower waterline to brighten up my eyes. We want to look awake, and happy, lol!

In terms of the face, I used a natural looking foundation, and concealer just to cover any under-eye circles or dark spots. You want to look well-rested and ready to work!

For cheeks, I kept it natural (are you sick of this word yet? lol) with a cream blush from Stila. You can use basically any muted rose or peachy color, as long as it gives you a subtle glow. Don’t get me wrong, I love hot pink blushes, but it isn’t really appropriate (darn!). :\ Cream blushes are also easier to blend into the skin. I used my Sonia Kashuk highlighting (stippling) brush, and just dabbed and blended it into the outer parts of my cheeks.

As for lips, I like to brighten it up a bit and use a brighter peachy lipstick. You can always just use a clear lip balm, but I like the way this Revlon lipstick makes my skin glow. 🙂 Again, we want to look happy and glowy!

ELF Complete Coverage Concealer in Light
Neutrogena Healthy Skin in 60 Natural Beige (I know many people compare this to NARS Sheer Glow, but this is so much better — SG settles into my laugh lines even with a primer. This doesn’t!)
NYX e/s trio in Highlight/Brown/Suede
Revlon Colorburst l/s in Peach
Stila Dual Lip and Cheek Color in Peony
ELF Cream Eyeliner in Black
(depotted)
ELF Treat and Tame in Light
Wet N Wild Brow Pencil in Taupe
NYX Doll Eye Mascara in Volume Black
NYX e/l in White

For hair, keep it simple. Don’t try to curl it if your hair isn’t naturally wavy or curly. Demonstrate good hygiene, lol. In the photo, I have mine half-up, clipped back with a claw clip. If you have bangs like me and they tend to get unruly, make sure you have some kind of product that will hold it, or clip it away from your face all-together. You don’t want to be flipping and readjusting anything during your meeting! It’s very distracting!

I also like to keep my earrings and jewelry simple. Pearl stud earrings for me. You don’t want your interviewer to be distracted with anything other than your personality and your resume!

Always remember to smile and remain upbeat and confident, no matter how tough the questions may be. Do your homework on the company and remember to ask questions (always have AT LEAST one)!!!

Thank you, Sammi, for requesting this look, and I hope it has helped you! I hope to receive more of your lovely feedback and ideas in the future! Have a great day and good luck!

Okay, this part is kinda random, but my friend asked me to do a dramatic look on her, and I used a look by MissChievous. I didn’t follow her tutorial (or watch it) before attempting this look; I used a still shot of her eyes and adjusted the technique to be suitable for my friend’s eye shape (Asian double eyelids) and the products I own.

Thank you Diana for being such a [patient] trooper!

3 Responses to “Request: Interview Make-up… and tips! (and my first model)”

  1. Sammi February 23, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    ahh thank u so much! ❤ you are so great and are a great writer too! 😀 i really appreciate u taking the time to do this. you don't have a youtube channel do u?

    • rosegasm March 24, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      no problem! 🙂 i hope i helped a little, haha. i posted maybe 2 videos in the past, but i’ve since deleted them… i am really horrible at editing videos, lol.

  2. sammi April 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    do u have an idea what ur next blog post will be about? if not i was wondering if u could do one on foundation?

Leave a Reply

