My favorite DIY beauty recipes…

13 Apr

I love DIY. You can save tons of $$$! It’s great if you’re in a pinch or on a budget, but sometimes, actual store-bought products may be better. However, with these recipies, you don’t have to worry about presevatives and deadly chemicals because you know exactly what is going in!

Honey-Sugar Face Scrub
1 tbsp of brown sugar
1 tbsp of honey
2 gel capsules of Vitamin E

Squeeze out the contents of the Vitamin E capsules. Mix and apply to face and gently ex foliate in circular motions. I like to use this in the shower because it gets kinda messy. You can substitute honey with olive oil for a more moisturizing effect. Sometimes I like to add in crushed uncoated aspirin tablets for salicylic acid for acne.I used this scrub about once a week or once every other week. I don’t have dry flakes on my skin because of this! If you want a more rough scrub, use less honey. It rinses off relatively easy, but you can always rinse with a gentle cleanser (think original Cetaphil).

Homemade Biore Pore Mask
Egg whites
Toilet paper

Biore pore strips never worked for me (I don’t have a lot of blackheads), but this worked on my sister, who has a lot of clogged pores. She uses it about once a month and it’s actually kinda fun (and gross!) to see what you can pull out. 😉

Rice Scrub
leftover cooked rice 🙂

I tried this once, and I am hooooooked. It is cheap and it uses leftover rice (which I always seem to have, lol). My skin felt very soft and supple afterwards. I can’t attribute too much to the glowing skin part, but I like this enough just to get soft skin. 🙂 It’s better to use rice that isn’t too soft, because I ended up having lots of bits stuck to my face. It rinses off very easily though! Queenie also has AMAAAAZING skin, if you haven’t noticed… can you guess her age?

Avocado hair mask
ripe avocado (mashed)

Spread evenly over dry hair and let it sit for about an hour, depending on how dry your hair is. You can also add warm olive oil (microwave for a few seconds until comfortably warm) for even more hydration. If using the OO, be careful in the shower because it can make your tub slippery.

Have fun!

3 Responses to “My favorite DIY beauty recipes…”

  1. alicia April 18, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    hey! i found your blog off The Mosaic Bench 😀 i was wondering what your daily facial routine is. your skin is lovely!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. origins checks and balances collab mini-review & my skin routine « what? i just like pink blush. - April 25, 2011

    […] I use the DIY Rice Scrub from My favorite DIY beauty recipes entry. It may seem weird, but I attribute my smooth (and sensitive!) skin to this trick! I urge […]

Leave a Reply

