origins checks and balances collab mini-review & my skin routine

25 Apr

This is a mini-review collaboration with Alyssa from The Mosiac Bench. She is going to be reviewing A Perfect World.

On Earth Day, Origins had a promotion where you can swap a full or empty skincare product for a full-size cleanser. I chose Checks and Balances. It is meant for all skin types. I have dry/normal skin which is sensitive to anything too moisturizing (ex. thick face creams) or too drying (ex. medicated acne cleansers). I also am prone to breaking out from using the wrong products and have some acne scars.

“When it comes to faces with dry and oily places, it takes a clever cleanser to balance the two. This gentle, frothy face wash carefully does both jobs without canceling each other out. Broad Leaf Kelp Extract discourages excess oil production, while Wheat Protein balances and protects dry prone zones. And Tourmaline actually makes water wetter to more easily disperse dirt and sebum down the drain. There’s also aromatic Bergamot, Spearmint and Lavender to add pleasure to the process. Skin feels comfortably refreshed after cleansing, never tight, pulled or parched.”

“Formulated without:

  • parabens
  • phthalates
  • propylene glycol
  • mineral oil
  • PABA
  • petroleum
  • paraffin
  • DEA
  • synthetic color”

Now I know it’s only been a few days since I’ve picked up my bottle, and tonight was the first time trying it. You might think this is not a great timeframe to review a product fully, but I am not enjoying it enough to continue usage.

Granted, I really enjoy the fact that it’s a foaming face wash, and you need only a pea-sized amount for your entire face! The texture is initially very thick and I had to squeeze pretty hard to get product out. I added a little water and rubbed my palms together to foam. At $18.50 for 5 fl oz, it is actually not that expensive, because it will last you a while (the shelf-life on the bottle says 24 months).  It smells refreshing and minty, sort of like Wrigley’s spearmint gum, only not too strong. I have previously tried a foaming cleanser which it is similar to, which is the Clarins Gentle Foaming Cleanser ($20 for 4.4 oz). I like the scent of Clarins a lot more, personally.

For me, the real test of a cleanser is how well it removes make-up. This does a pretty good job. I was playing around with a bunch of shadows, foundations, etc. and it was very effective in removing my eye makeup, even my CoverGirl LashBlast mascara. My face on the other hand, although it felt ‘superficially’ clean, I could still tell I had some foundation left. I used a little more and it still didn’t do very much in getting that weird feeling off my skin. However, I find it removes eye makeup better than Clarins. But I like Clarins for removing foundation, lol.

The upside is that it really did not leaving my skin feeling too tight. I did not use any moisturizer for a good half-hour after coming out of the shower and my skin didn’t have a touch of shine.

I thought this was decent. Until a few hours later…

*zit* *zit* *zit* *zit*………….*zit. le sigh.

I was pretty happy with my current routine, but decided to try something new, and it basically backfired on me. :\ Since I found my current routine, I have barely had any zits, even during that time of the month. I was really disappointed. Oh, well. Although it didn’t work out for me, I would suggest this cleanser for skin that is a little more oily. Dry skin is basically a hit or miss, IMO.

MY CURRENT “HAPPY-FACE” ROUTINE:

Morning:

Nighttime:

Occasionally, I use the DIY Rice Scrub from My favorite DIY beauty recipes entry. It may seem weird, but I attribute my smooth  skin to this trick! I urge you to try it. 🙂 I do this about once a week.

Please remember to check out Alyssa’s site, The Mosaic Bench! She has a lot of eco-friendly articles, and she’s a fantastic writer! Plus, she updates more often than I do, LOL.

Ciao, belle!

5 Responses to “origins checks and balances collab mini-review & my skin routine”

  1. Alyssa April 25, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    LOL Thanks for the publicity Rose! I’ll be sure to do a review on A Perfect World soon. Soo sad to hear that Checks and Balances didn’t work for you 😦

  2. alicia April 29, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    great post, thanks! how can u get contoured cheeks like kate middleton on her wedding day:

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/royal-wedding/8483421/Prince-William-and-Kate-Middleton-exchange-vows.html

  3. jamie June 9, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    any tips for this hot summer season with controlling sweat, including not having your makeup slide all over the place?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Upgrades and Updates « The Mosaic Bench - May 28, 2011

    […] I’ll finally be able to review Origins A Perfect World cleanser that I got for free on Earth Day (yeah, it’s been awhile!). If you got Origins Checks and Balances cleanser, check out my friend Rose’s review on her blog. […]

  2. Origins A Perfect World Cleanser « The Mosaic Bench - June 8, 2011

    […] This is collaboration review with Rose. If you got the free products from Origins on Earth Day and got A Perfect World cleanser, read on! But if you got the  Checks and Balances cleanser, check out Rose’s review. […]

Leave a Reply

